Trouble in Paradise

Started by MongoLikeSox, August 05, 2023, 07:45:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MongoLikeSox

Strange game today. Odd look to the team out there. Now we sort of know why.

Looks like Verdugo and Cora ain't too happy with each other. Cora saying it's one of the worst days he's had in the organization. Verdugo clamming up, basic saying all the right wrong things. "it's his decision, and I respect him" and stuff like that. Cora saying they took a huge step backwards as a team today, referring to Verdugo not being ready. There's a chance he'll play tomorrow.

Verdugo was asked if he got there late and he said no. 

Cora threw him under the bus, too.
“(Saturday) we took a step back as a team. We have to make sure everybody’s available every single day here,” Cora said. “That wasn’t the case, and as a manager, I got to take charge of this and I decided (Verdugo) wasn’t gonna play.

“… I’m just taking care of the 26 guys, and (Verdugo) wasn’t gonna play.”

Ruh Roh!!!!

elktonnick

This team has not been ready to play repeatedly all year.  Cora is responsible for the team's readiness. 

Sea Dog 23

Team headed on a steady course for last place - again.  With the pitching and all the other angst,  this could be a rough landing for everybody wearing the Sox colors.

MongoLikeSox

This is not about a guy showing up late. Surely he is not the first one to do that since Cora's been around. Cora's not above throwing a guy under the bus, but this reaction is way beyond even Alex Cora. Something happened. Whatever it was, it was the last bit of fuel needed for that situation to hit that boiling point. Showing up at 1:35 for a 4:10 game isn't enough for this episode.

I can imagine Verdugo's taking a beating in Boston right now. Boston is not the best place for free spirits and guys that internalize negative clubhouse vibes and the town's and press' noise. We saw Duran pop last year. Manny being Manny checked out every August.